# WISCONSIN

Jeff Penzkover

Jake Cattanach

4

5

Motion

### **MINUTES**

REORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE WISCONSIN RAPIDS COMMON COUNCIL TUESDAY, APRIL 16, 2024 6:00 P.M.

A reorganizational meeting of the Wisconsin Rapids Common Council was held in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 444 West Grand Avenue, on Tuesday, April 16, 2024, at 6:02 p.m. The public was invited to listen to the audio of the meeting. The meeting was also streamed LIVE on the City's Facebook page.

<ol> <li>Call to Order</li> <li>Mayor Zacher called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m.</li> </ol>								
2. Roll Call								
	ated that all aide	rnersons were pre	sent with a v	acancy in District 3:				
Alderpers		strict Prese	· ·	sent				
Ryan Aus		$\boxtimes$						
Dean Ver		$\boxtimes$						
Vacant	3							
Jeff Penzi	kover 4	$\boxtimes$						
Jake Catt		$\boxtimes$						
Dennis Po		$\boxtimes$						
Patrick J.		$\boxtimes$						
	Palmquist 8	_ ⊠						
•	•							
		ilent Prayer in Lie						
Mayor Zache	r requested that a	all present stand f	or the Pledge	of Allegiance and a	moment of silent prayer.			
4 Oath of O	ffice for Mayor M	att Zacher						
		ed an oath of office	for Mayor M	att Zacher				
ong onom and								
		rsons in Districts						
-			•	•	istrict 2), Jeff Penzkover (District			
4), Dennis Po	4), Dennis Polach (District 6), and Madalyn Palmquist (District 8)							
6 Flection	of a Common Cou	ıncil President						
			d Cattanach.	and both nomination	ns were accepted. As there were			
					inations. No objection was made			
and nominati	and nominations were closed. A vote was taken by secret ballot which resulted in the election of Dean Veneman as							
Common Cou	incil President by	a vote of 5 votes	for Veneman	to 2 votes for Cattan	ach.			
7 Discuss of	and consider the	annaintment of a	Diatriat 2 Ald	ornaraan and/ar aan	oider erdering a Special Floation			
		appointment of a District 3 Alderpers			sider ordering a Special Election			
	_	-			f a District 3 Alderperson at the			
					arried, 4 ayes and 3 nays:			
<u>Alderpers</u>	on <u>District</u>	Motion/Second	Aye Nay	<u>Abstain</u>				
Ryan Aus								
Dean Ver	ieman 2							
Vacant	3							

 $\boxtimes$ 

X

<ul> <li>9. The Newly Appointed Committees will meet to elect Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons</li> <li>The committees met and elected: <ul> <li>a. Jake Cattanach as Chairperson and Dean Veneman as Vice-Chairperson of the Finance and Property Committee, which will meet at 5:00 p.m. on the first Tuesday of the month;</li> <li>b. Ryan Austin as Chairperson and Madalyn Palmquist as Vice-Chairperson of the Public Works Committee, which will meet at 5:00 p.m. on the Thursday following the first Tuesday of the month;</li> <li>c. Patrick Delaney as Chairperson and Dennis Polach as Vice-Chairperson of the Human Resources Committee. Meeting day and time to be determined.</li> </ul> </li> </ul>							
he ce-							
there were was made Palmquist. resulted in e Planning							

12. Election of an Alderperson to serve as an alternate on the Ethics Board to replace Matt Zacher, for a term expiring in November 1, 2024

Zacher asked for un were closed. A voice	animous vote wa	s consent to clos s taken which re	e nom	nination d in 6 a	ns. No obje yes, 0 nay	re were no further nominations, Mayor ection was made and nominations ys and 1 abstention to approve Board, for a term expiring November 1,
Alderperson	Dietrict	Motion/Second	<u>Aye</u>	Nav	<u>Abstain</u>	
Ryan Austin	1	<u>IVIOLIOTI/ SECOTIO</u>	Aye	<u>Nay</u> □		
Dean Veneman						
	2					
Vacant	3					
Jeff Penzkover	4					
Jake Cattanach	5		$\boxtimes$			
Dennis Polach	6				$\boxtimes$	
Patrick J. Delaney			$\boxtimes$			
Madalyn Palmquis	st 8		$\boxtimes$			
Delaney nominated V Zacher asked for unar A voice vote was take the Park and Recreati	eneman, nimous co n, which on Comm	and the nominationsent to close no resulted in 7 ayes hission to serve for	tion wa ominati s and ( or his te	as acce <sub>l</sub> ons. No O nays t erm of o	oted. As the objection of approve ffice:	serve for the Alderperson's term of office here were no further nominations, Mayor was made, and nominations were closed. Veneman as the Alderperson member to
<u>Alderperson</u>		Motion/Second		<u>man</u>	<u>Evanson</u>	
Ryan Austin	1		$\boxtimes$			
Dean Veneman	2		$\boxtimes$			
Vacant	3					
Jeff Penzkover	4		$\boxtimes$			
Jake Cattanach	5		$\boxtimes$			
Dennis Polach	6		$\boxtimes$			
Patrick J. Delaney	7		$\boxtimes$			
Madalyn Palmquis	st 8		$\boxtimes$			
14. Election of an Alde	erperson	to the Water Work	ks and	Lighting	g Commissi	ion, to serve for the Alderperson's term of
Zacher asked for unar A voice vote was take	nimous co n, which	onsent to close no resulted in 7 ayes	minati and 0	ons. No nays to	objection approve I	here were no further nominations, Mayor was made, and nominations were closed. Penzkover as the Alderperson member to
the Water Works and						
Alderperson		Motion/Second	-	<u>Nay</u>	Abstain	
Ryan Austin	1					
Dean Veneman	2					
Vacant	3					
Jeff Penzkover	4		$\boxtimes$			
Jake Cattanach	5		$\boxtimes$			
Dennis Polach	6		$\boxtimes$			
Patrick J. Delaney	7		$\boxtimes$			
Madalyn Palmquis	st 8		$\boxtimes$			
15. Consider for confi Mayor Zacher made the Convention and V	he followi	ng appointments:	-	nents to	various Co	ommittees, Commission and Boards
			d as a ı	regular	member fo	or a term expiring 4/21/2026

**Historic Preservation Commission** 

Pat Kozicki, 430 1<sup>st</sup> Avenue, is appointed as an alternate member to replace Jeff Penzkover for a term expiring 02/01/2026

### **Housing Authority**

Jean Helmer, 531 Klevene Circle, is appointed as a regular member for a term expiring 4/30/2029.

## Park and Recreation Commission

Alderperson Jeff Penzkover, 1231 17<sup>th</sup> Street, is the mayor's alderperson appointment for a term expiring 04/21/2026.

Tom Rayome, 1220 22<sup>nd</sup> Street North, is appointed as a regular member to replace to Tom Ekelin for a term expiring 05/01/2029

## **Planning Commission**

Eric Daven, 2811 21st Place South, is reappointed as a regular member for a term expiring 05/01/2027 Benjamin Goodreau, 550 Elm Street, is reappointed as a regular member for a term expiring 05/01/2027 Lee Thao, 1010 11th Avenue, is reappointed as a regular member for a term expiring 05/01/2027

# Wastewater Treatment Commission

David Laspa, 2931 10th Street South, is reappointed as a regular member for a term expiring 06/01/2029 It was moved by Cattanach, seconded by Palmquist to approve Mayor Zacher's appointments to various Committees, Commissions and Boards as presented. Motion carried, 7 ayes and 0 nays.

<b>District</b>	Motion/Second	<u>Aye</u>	<u>Nay</u>	<u>Abstain</u>
1		$\boxtimes$		
2		$\boxtimes$		
3				
4		$\boxtimes$		
5	Motion	$\boxtimes$		
6		$\boxtimes$		
7		$\boxtimes$		
t 8	Second	$\boxtimes$		
	1 2 3 4 5 6 7	1 2 3 4 5 Motion 6 7	1 ⊠ 2 ⊠ 3 □ 4 ⊠ 5 Motion ⊠ 6 ⊠ 7	1

### 16. Adjournment

It was moved by Penzkover, seconded by Veneman to adjourn. Motion carried, 7 ayes and 0 nays, and the meeting adjourned at 7:02 p.m.:

<u>Alderperson</u>	<b>District</b>	Motion/Second	<u>Aye</u>	<u>Nay</u>	<u>Abstain</u>
Ryan Austin	1		$\boxtimes$		
Dean Veneman	2	Second	$\boxtimes$		
Vacant	3				
Jeff Penzkover	4	Motion	$\boxtimes$		
Jake Cattanach	5		$\boxtimes$		
Dennis Polach	6		$\boxtimes$		
Patrick J. Delaney	7		$\boxtimes$		
Madalyn Palmquis	t 8		$\boxtimes$		

Respectfully submitted,